Currency Exchange
Australian Cricket Team, 1882 - start of the Ashes

Australian Cricket Team, 1882 - start of the Ashes

by The Illustrated London News

Australian Eleven from the Australian colonies before match against England at the Oval in south London. In 1882-83, the English team played in Australia as “the quest to regain The Ashes”. The first Ashes trophy was awarded in 1883. 
AUSTRALIAN CRICKETERS…  S.P. Jones, A.C. Bannerman, George John Bonnor (who was described as “a most excellent specimen of the Great Briton”), Frederick Robert Spofforth “Demon Bowler” , J. McCarthy Blackham, W.L. Murdoch, G. Eugene Palmer, G. Giffen, H.F. Boyle, T.W. Garrett, H.H. Massie, Percy S. McDonnell, T. Horan.
Reproduction from The Illustrated London News engraved illustration with later colour. 
Printed on card 17 x 24cm (6.5 x 9.5 inches).

Stock Number: HE236Price: $9.00